Find us on facebook!
About CGS
Avalanche Info Center
Colorado Geology
Energy Resources
Geologic Hazards
Geologic Mapping
Geological Research
Land Use Regulations
Mineral Resources
Home > About CGS > Awards and Recognition > 1998 Frye Award
1998 Frye Award - Geological Society of America 

John C. Frye Memorial Award in Environmental Geology ceremony, October 26, 1998, GSA annual meeting, Toronto, Ontario. Dave Noe and Pat Rogers (CGS, co-authors) receive the Frye award from Jamie Robertson (presenter, GSA Engineering Geology Division), and Vicki Cowart (former Colorado State Geologist). Not shown: Candace Jochim (co-author).

John C. Frye Memorial Award

The John C. Frye Memorial Award is given each year to the best environmental geology paper published either by the Geological Society of America or by one of the state geological surveys. Papers published during the preceding three calendar years are judged. For years 1990-1993, the award consisted of $500 and certificates. Beginning in 1994, the annual amount has been $1,000. The award is given at the AASG breakfast meeting during the annual GSA meeting.

1998 (Toronto)  David C. Noe, Candace L. Jochim, and William P. Rogers, 1997, A Guide to Swelling Soils for Colorado Homebuyers and Homeowners: Colorado Geological Survey, Special Publication 43.

Click Here to find A Guide to Swelling Soils at our online bookstore.

Last Updated: 9/28/2009 11:01 AM 
News  |  About Us  |  Site Map  |  Staff Directory  |  Licensing  |